Bettendof Football: State Champions

CONTACT Webmaster |

State Champions

The very first Bettendorf Bulldog squad to earn the title of Iowa State Champions occurred in 1960 when a 9-0 Bulldog squad that had won four straight conference titles and 26-games without a loss was named by the U.P.I. as Iowa State Champs.  Led by Head Coach Merrit Parsons,  the '60 Bulldogs outscored their opponents 381-98 and were undeniably the best team in the state. Since 1972 when the Iowa Class 4A Playoffs--Iowa's largest for football--was implemented, no other school has won more state championships than Bettendorf who has accomplished the task seven times:  1981, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1992, 2004, and 2007.  Five of these titles were won with former-head coach Merv Habenicht leading the helm while the most recent 2004 and 2007 titles were accomplished by long-time coach Randy Scott.  The Bulldogs also have been the state runner-up on three different occasions:  1980, 2000, and 2002.

Bettendorf was the very first team in Class 4A history to win back-to-back titles (1987 & 1988) and were in contention for a third-straight championship in 1989 before bowing out in the Semifinals; the '89 loss also ended a 36-game winning streak for the Bulldogs which also happens to be the longest winning streak (not "non-losing" streak which also includes ties) in Iowa Class 4A. Bettendorf also won another pair of consecutive titles in 1991 & 1992...and again were seeking a third-straight title in 1993 before [again] falling short in the Quarterfinals.

It is safe to say that such success does not happen by accident; rather, it occurs by design.


1960 | 1981 |1987 | 1988 | 1991 | 1992 | 2004 | 2007

1981 Championship Game Stats
2004 Championship Game Stats
2007 Championship Game Stats

Class 4A Championship Game Records