CONTACT Webmaster |

Mississippi Athletic Conference 1986-2013

Officially, the Mississippi Athletic Conference was formed in 1986 but in reality it was just an expansion of the Mississippi Eight league as further population growth in the Quad Cities led to the creation of Davenport North while Pleasant Valley—who won the 1985 Class 3A state championship—moved up to Class 4A beginning with the 1987 season.

The Mississippi Athletic Conference is rich in tradition and known for the classic 1980’s battles between Davenport Central and West to the most recent dogfights between Bettendorf and Davenport Assumption.  The M.A.C. is also recognized as one of the toughest 4A conferences in the State and annually has teams ranked in the Top 10.  As well, numerous athletes from the M.A.C. have continued their careers collegiately and beyond.

To date, since Iowa's 1972 inception of the State Playoffs, current M.A.C. members have won a total of twelve (12) Class 4A state championships:  Bettendorf (7), Davenport Central (3), and Davenport West (2); historically speaking, Central and West won four of the first six Class 4A state titles.  As well, Pleasant Valley won the Class 3A state title in 1985.

In early 2014, the Iowa High School Athletic Association decided to restructure how Class 3A and 4A were structured and decided to go to District assignments which thus ended the MAC; most notably, Davenport Assumption—a 3A school enrollment-wise who elected to play 4A football—went to 3A and thus with former MAC schools being assigned to different districts.

Mississippi Athletic Conference Champions

Bettendorf Bulldogs
1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1998, 1999,
2001, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011

Davenport Assumption Knights
1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2005

Clinton River Kings
1991, 2009

1997, 2003

Burlington Greyhounds

Pleasant Valley
1996, 2012

North Scott

Class 4A State Champions from the
Mississippi Athletic Conference

Bettendorf - 1987, 1988, 1991, 1992, 2004, 2007

Mississippi Athletic Conference Members

Bettendorf Bulldogs

Burlington Greyhounds

Clinton River Kings

Davenport Assumption Knights

Davenport Central Blue Devils

Davenport West Falcons

Davenport North Wildcats

Muscatine Muskies

North Scott Lancers

Pleasant Valley Spartans

Individual Mississippi Athletic Conference Records

Rushing - 7 Conference Games
Roger Craig, Davenport Central - 1,060 yards (1978)

Rushing - 9 Conference Games
Marques Simmons, Davenport North - 1,788 yards (2000)

Rushing Average
Ed Gibson, Davenport Assumption - 12.9 yards in 88 carries for a total of 1,138 yards (1992)
Tavian Banks, Bettendorf - 10.9 yards in 149 carries for 1,627 yards (1992)

Passing Yards
Jon Phillips, Muscatine - 2,785 yards (2007)

Passing Completions
Jon Phillips, Muscatine - 212 completions (2007)

Passing Touchdowns
Ben Stover, Muscatine - 27 touchdowns (2000)

Pass Receptions
Tony Manriquez, Muscatine - 70 receptions (2007)

Pass Reception Yards
Rick Teed, Muscatine - 1,011 yards (2007)

Pass Reception Touchdowns
Colin Sandeman, Bettendorf - 15 touchdowns (2005)

Rushing Touchdowns
Willie Argo, Davenport Assumption - 39 touchdowns (2007)

Willie Argo, Davenport Assumption, 210 points/season in 9 conference games (2007)
ALSO:  234 points/season in 11 total games (2007) and 450 career points (2005-07)

Dick Wagner, M.A.C. Statistician
Jerry Bretag, M.A.C. Statistician (1978-1991)