CONTACT Webmaster |

1980 Class 4A 1st Round Playoff Game


Bettendorf (9-0) vs. Dubuque Hempstead (8-1)

“A fistfight with rules” is probably the best way to describe this contest—recently transferred from 16mm film into DVD format—between two great football programs. In one corner stood the Mustangs of Dubuque Hempstead—the 1979 and current defending Class 4A state champions—whose methodical Wing-T offense, led by running back Greg Dralle, was complemented by a bruising defense anchored by linebacker Jason Crews. In the opposite corner was the up-and-coming Bettendorf Bulldogs who not only finished the regular season unbeaten for the first time since 1966, but also first-time ever qualifiers for the Iowa High School Football Playoffs. The Bulldogs were led by quarterback Jeff Stelk who utilized receivers Tom Roberts and Todd Uhde just as efficiently as ball carriers Al Tudeen and Randy Holcomb gained yards on the ground—and their defense was a wrecking crew with guys like Hap Peterson, tackle Tom Ackerson, and back Wayne Perkins leading the charge. Both teams went toe-to-toe with one another in such a ferocious manner that to decide a winner, the game was forced into overtime.